Frequently Asked Questions About Workers’ Compensation
An on-the-job injury can disrupt your whole life. You may be experiencing debilitating pain and psychological trauma that need adequate recovery time. Some people may be experiencing the one-two punch of skyrocketing debt from medical bills and the inability to return to work.
After you have been injured on the job, you may be able to file for workers’ compensation benefits. Our Florida and Georgia Workers’ Compensation attorneys can tell you what to expect next and help preserve your rights. Please note that workers’ compensation law can be complex and is subject to change. A licensed and experienced lawyer can update you on the changes and your current rights.
You will want to select an attorney with experience in this area of the law. Our workers’ compensation attorneys have been fighting for your rights since 1979, despite the efforts by the insurance industry and business community to erode the rights of injured workers. Contact Farah & Farah for your no-obligation and confidential case review.
Frequently Asked Questions and Resources About Workers’ Compensation Case
Applying for workers’ compensation benefits is a complex process. Filing for working comp requires following a lot of complicated steps and procedures. It’s perfectly normal to have questions about filing your workers’ compensation benefits.
We receive a lot of questions about workers’ comp. As Florida and Georgia’s leading workers’ comp attorneys, we have ample resources to help you get quick answers to your questions.
If I’m injured and take time off from work, will I be paid?
What if I want to receive a lump sum?
Are those benefits taxable?
What if I was partially to blame for my accident?
Will I lose my job if I apply for benefits?
Do I have to pay for my medical bills?
How long will I receive benefits?
My checks are not coming, what can I do?
What if I can’t return to my job?
Q: If I’m injured and take time off from work, will I be paid?
A: Florida law says you will not be paid for seven days of disability unless your disability extends over 21 days. Then you may be paid by the insurance company for the first seven days. In most cases you will receive a benefit check, bi-weekly. You should get your first check within 21 days after reporting the injury. It will amount to two-thirds of your average weekly wage, as calculated by the wage you were receiving three months prior to your injury.
Employees who take time off work after an injury in Georgia may be subject to losing their job. Workplace insurers often require terminations of employees who receive workers’ compensation benefits. Sometimes people will be fired even if they can return to their job.
Q: What if I want to receive a lump sum?
A: You may be able to receive a lump sum if it is negotiated with the workers’ compensation insurance representative, pending approval by your state worker’s comp board.
Q: Are those benefits taxable?
A: No, not unless you go back to work with limitations. That wage is taxable.
Q: What if I was partially to blame for my accident?
A: If it is determined that you had some role in your own injury, for example, you were not following the safety rules set by your company, your benefits can be lowered by 25 percent.
Q: Will I lose my job if I apply for benefits?
A: You cannot be fired in retaliation for filing a workers’ compensation claim in Florida or Georgia. However, Florida law does not require your employer to hold open your job until you return to work. If you were fired in retaliation for filing a claim, talk to a Florida workers’ compensation lawyer about preserving your rights.
In Georgia, your employer must pay and provide benefits for your injury. But you still may be at risk of losing your job. Contacting a lawyer with experience in workers compensation will help you fight for the justice you deserve.
Q: Do I have to pay for my medical bills?
A: All authorized medical bills will be given to your company’s insurer for payment. You should not have to pay any of these bills.
Q: How long will I receive benefits?
A: For no more than a maximum of 104 weeks you can receive Temporary Total, Temporary Partial Disability payments or a combination of the two benefits during the continuance of your disability.
Q: My checks are not coming, what can I do?
A: Most reasons for compensation delays are unacceptable. Contact a Florida or Georgia workers’ compensation attorney as soon as you notice problems with your compensation. They will be able to help you maneuver through the system and remove compensation roadblocks.
Q: What if I can’t return to my job?
A: If you cannot return to the job you held previously, you are entitled to receive vocational counseling, transferable skills analysis, job-seeking skills, job placement, on-the-job training, and formal retraining.
To find out more about these programs, you may contact the Florida Division of Vocational Rehabilitation, or the Georgia Vocational Rehabilitation Agency.
Farah & Farah Can Secure The Relief You Need
After experiencing an on the job injury, you may be dealing with challenges from all sides. As you take off time to recover from your injuries, you could also be facing mounting medical debt and the inability to pay for your injuries. Programs like workers’ comp can help you offset your financial costs and get your life on track.
The team at Farah & Farah is ready to help you get the answers you deserve. Hiring a workers’ comp attorney can help you navigate the difficult workers’ compensation claim process. A law firm with a proven track record of winning cases can help you build a successful claim. Contact Farah & Farah now for your free, no-obligation case review.