For most Americans, the holidays represent an opportunity to spend more time with loved ones, reflect on the past year,...
According to the Insurance Research Council, over 12 percent of US drivers in 2019 were uninsured. That means one out of every eight drivers on the road does not have insurance.
You may be unsure what to do if you are in a car accident and do not have insurance. The process for filing a claim is confusing enough without the risk of facing penalties, out-of-pocket repairs, medical expenses, license revocation, and possibly even jail time. The first step is to contact an experienced auto accident attorney to review your case and advise your legal strategy.
You can trust the auto accident lawyers at Farah & Farah to help. We have fought on behalf of uninsured drivers for over 40 years. Contact us at 877-245-6707 to schedule a free, no-obligation case review. We are ready to explore your legal options.
If you are at fault or even partially at fault for an accident, you may face consequences, including: paying to repair and replace any damaged property, license suspension, and wage garnishment. Florida and Georgia vary in methods for collecting compensation from at-fault drivers requiring the at-fault driver to cover expenses like medical bills and other damages.
Even if you did not cause the accident, you may face legal hurdles if you are not insured. According to the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR), any car that does not have the mandatory minimum liability insurance will have its registration suspended or revoked.
If you do not have car insurance, you may face penalties even if you did not cause the accident.
If you experience injuries in the accident, you may receive compensation if the driver has bodily injury insurance coverage. Many states—Florida included—do not require drivers to carry bodily insurance coverage. PIP insurance is only intended to pay for expenses incurred by the policyholder and will not cover any damages you suffer.
To get the answers you need, contact a knowledgeable auto accident lawyer. At Farah & Farah, we have the resources to protect your interests.
While it is against the law in nearly every state to drive without car insurance, the penalties for doing so vary state by state. Generally, penalties may include license and/or registration suspension, substantial fines, and even jail time – with some states enforcing a maximum of up to five years.
Florida drivers without insurance may face:
In Georgia, uninsured drivers can face:
Yes, you can still file a claim to help you recover damages and cover accident-related expenses. You also have the option to file a lawsuit if your successful insurance claim does not compensate you appropriately.
Even if you file a claim against the at-fault driver, you may still face consequences for driving without insurance.
Other Car Accident FAQs
Our Florida Locations
Our Georgia Locations
We understand the stress and confusion that can occur after an uninsured car accident. Whether you take on the other driver or their insurance company, you need a reliable lawyer to help navigate the legal complexities of your case.
The auto accident attorneys at Farah & Farah will protect your rights, investigate the circumstances of your accident, connect you with medical professionals to treat your injuries, fight for maximum compensation, and support you through the entire process.
We’ve seen too many people get taken advantage of by legal and insurance issues. We don’t want that to happen to you.
Recent News About Florida & Georgia Auto Accidents