Available 24/7 (877) 245-6707

Man Pleads Guilty in Jacksonville Hit-and-Run Death

Posted on July 28, 2011

The beautiful young woman was just 21-year-old and last February was crossing Beach Boulevard in Jacksonville at the wrong time. She was hit just before 8 p.m. on February 15 and passed away that evening. The 20-year-old who left the scene and left the young woman to die pleaded guilty on Monday, July 25 to leaving the victim at the scene of the fatal Jacksonville pedestrian accident. One never knows if a life could have been saved if someone had called for medical attention immediately or just stayed by her side.

Her parents are planning their victim impact statements that they will present when he is sentenced in August.

Under Florida law, the young man was in violation of Florida Statute Section 316.192 and could have received up to 30 years behind bars for his cowardly act, which is a first degree felony. No matter whether you are intoxicated, driving without a license or whatever the situation, leaving the scene of an accident where there are injuries automatically turns a misdemeanor or no charge into a felony. Not only that, but it is a gross violation of human decency. It is possible that the man pled guilty to a second degree felony in exchange for a limit of 15 years in prison. This article by Channel 4 is not clear why it mentions a 15-year imprisonment.

Our condolences go out to her family for their tremendous loss. The young woman had her whole life ahead of her. If this man has any prior reckless driving charges they, no doubt, will be taken into consideration during his sentencing hearing. Reckless driving is a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.

The Jacksonville injury lawyers at the Farah & Farah law firm are members of Hit-and-Run Reward, a national program financed exclusively by American personal injury attorneys who believe if you report a hit-and-run driver you will not only feel good by keeping a dangerous driver off the road, but you could receive a financial reward of $1,000 for anyone you turn in who is later convicted of the hit-and-run. This program is offered in addition to the Crime Stoppers reward program, so doing the right thing could yield you $2,000. The number for Hit-and-Run Reward is 1-800-644-8678.

Sources: http://www.news4jax.com/news/28657944/detail.html and http://www.myfloridahouse.gov/FileStores/Web/Statutes/FS09/CH0316/Section_0316.192.HTM