Woman Killed in Hit-and-Run Pedestrian Accident in Jacksonville
A 20-year-old man suspected of fleeing the scene of a hit-and-run crash that killed a young woman on Beach Boulevard Tuesday night, February 15, appeared in court and will be held on $100,000 bond. The man was arrested Thursday, February 17, about 6 p.m. at his home and his pickup, believed to be the crash vehicle, was towed from his Jacksonville area home. Channel 4 reported that the mother of the young man said he was going to turn himself in, but the station reports that a tipster actually contacted law enforcement and turned him in.
The young woman cried out to her friends around the time she was hit crossing Beach Boulevard at Palm Lane. She died at Shands Jacksonville Medical Center around 10 p.m. after being dragged 20 yards under the truck. Channel 4 reports her parent’s believe she might have survived had the driver slowed down. Instead, there was a tire print on her body, they said.
Our sincere condolences are extended to the friends and family of this beautiful young woman.
Unfortunately for this young man, the fact that he chose to leave the scene after hitting a person made his act an automatic felony that will bring him a long time in state prison. Florida Statute 316.027 says that the driver of a vehicle involved in a crash that results in an injury must stop the vehicle and remain at the scene to answer questions and to aid the victim. To fail to do so means that person has committed a felony of the third degree, punishable by up to five years in prison.
If a Florida hit-and-run accident involves a death, the person must again stop and remain at the scene to help and answer questions or face a first degree felony charge, punishable by up to 30 years in state prison. In some instances, hitting a pedestrian might not bring any charges, depending on the circumstances or it might bring a misdemeanor charge, if the driver stayed at the scene.
Farah & Farah’s Florida car crash lawyers urge anyone involved in a crash with a pedestrian, motorcycle, another motorist, or bicycle to stay at the scene and at the very least render aid. To fail to do so brings charges that some consider well deserved.
Because hit-and-run collisions are such a problem in our state, the Farah & Farah law firm is a member of Hit-and-Run Reward, a national program financed exclusively by American personal injury attorneys to encourage everyone to turn in a hit-and-run driver. You’ll be taking a dangerous driver off the road and are eligible to receive a $1,000 reward if the person is convicted. Visit our Web site for more. The number for Hit-and-Run Reward is 1-800-644-8678.