Texting While Driving Ban Takes Effect in Florida Today
According to a report by WLRN, a new law has taken effect in Florida on October 1 that bans texting while driving. The original bill, SB 52, was pushed by Senator Nancy Detert for many years. Governor Rick Scott signed the bill in North Miami, deeming it law.
Florida has become one of many states in the U.S. that have implemented a ban on texting while driving. The Sunshine State, however, will regard a violation of the law as a secondary offense, meaning motorists cannot be ticketed for texting while driving unless they have been stopped for another alleged traffic violation. Those determined to have broken the law will be met with a $30 fine.
Some advocates against distracted driving are disappointed by the new law. A Spring Hill man whose daughter was killed in a texting while driving incident believes the penalties aren’t strong enough to deter the dangerous behavior.
“It’s too weak,” said the Spring Hill man. “A $30 fine? A teenager that works in McDonald’;s could afford a $30 fine, so it’s not going to make too much of a difference.”
In 2012, more than 4,500 Florida auto accidents involved distraction by cell phones and other mobile devices. Nearly six percent of those accidents were attributed to texting. Law enforcement officials believe the actual number to be much higher.
Driving may seem like a mundane, daily activity, but it can turn dangerous if handled with neglect. All motorists hold the responsibility to stay attentive on the road and practice safe habits to prevent accident injuries or fatalities from occurring. Any source of distraction, especially cell phones, can lead to devastated lives.
If you or someone you love has been involved in an accident due to a distracted driver, contact the experienced Florida distracted driving accident attorneys at Farah & Farah today. We can use our many resources and skills to conduct a thorough investigation of your crash case, gather strong evidence that supports your side of the story, and employ expert testimony if necessary. Do not forgo filing your claims case. With our assistance, you may receive compensation that’ll make recovery much more manageable. Call us at (800) 533-3555.