Florida Motorcycle Laws
State and Federal Laws and Procedures
If you ride a motorcycle in Florida, it’s important to learn about the laws relating to bikers and motorcycles. Many motorcycle collisions are preventable. Often, serious injuries are caused by motorists failing to share the road with motorcyclists or operating vehicles by driving dangerously. Under Florida law, motorcyclists have the same rights and responsibilities as drivers of any other vehicle.
If you’re injured in a motorcycle crash, financial help could be available for all your damages and losses. It is important that you understand your legal rights and options. The experienced Jacksonville motorcycle accident lawyers at Farah & Farah have the knowledge and understanding of state motorcycle laws to protect your rights.
Understanding Florida Motorcycle Laws
The Florida DMV defines a motorcycle as a motorized vehicle with two or three wheels and an engine of 50cc or more. Scooter, mopeds and tractors do not fall under this category and require a Class E or greater license.
If you ride a motorcycle in Florida, here are some laws you should be familiar with:
- Motorcycle endorsement – Anyone operating a motorcycle in Florida is required to have a “motorcycle endorsement” through the Florida DMV. If you already have a driver’s license, you can be issued a motorcycle endorsement. People who don’t have a driver’s license may qualify for a license that allows them to operate motorcycles only.
- Helmet law – Florida’s helmet law is complex. Although it generally requires all motorcycle operators and passengers to wear helmets, the law doesn’t apply to riders over 21 if the person is covered by an insurance policy providing for at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident. For motorcycle riders between the ages of 16 and 20, a state-approved safety helmet is mandatory. The helmet law, however, doesn’t apply to anyone 16 or older riding a motorcycle powered by a motor that is 50 cc or less.
- Eye protection – All motorcycle operators and passengers are required under the law to wear eye protection such as goggles, glasses or a face shield. This law doesn’t include any passengers who are riding in enclosed sidecars.
- Training requirements – Motorcycle operators must complete a 15-hour basic rider education course accredited by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. The course will cover skills training, hearing and vision tests, and include an examination testing knowledge of road safety rules.
- Riding laws – The law requires the use of a daytime headlight for all Florida riders. Motorcycle’s handlebars can’t be higher than the rider’s shoulders when they are seated on the motorcycle. Motorcyclists aren’t allowed under the law to wear headphones or earphones while riding. Florida law does allow motorcyclists to ride side by side. Motorists are required to give riders a full lane. State law prohibits motorcyclists from splitting lanes. The law also states that motorcycles need to have working turn signals and at least one rearview mirror.
If You Have Been Injured In a Motorcycle Accident in Jacksonville, FL
If you or a loved one has been injured in a collision, it’s important that you file a police report, obtain a copy of the report, get contact information for all parties involved (including eyewitnesses), obtain photographs and other evidence from the scene and get immediate medical attention and treatment for your injuries.
The experienced Jacksonville accident attorneys at Farah & Farah help injured victims and their families seek and obtain just compensation for all their damages and losses. Please contact us at (904) 263-4610 for a free consultation and comprehensive case evaluation.