Jacksonville Suspended License Attorneys
Driving on Suspended License in FL
Florida may suspend or revoke a driver’s license for many reasons. License suspensions are built into the charges or penalties for some crimes, such as driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI). Certain traffic offenses can also result in a suspended license, and so can earning a certain number of license “points” that often come with traffic tickets.
Regardless of why a license is suspended, however, Florida law prohibits a driver with a suspended license from driving on public roads – and a driver who faces a driving with a suspended license (DWLS) conviction in Florida can face heavy penalties as a result. The help of a hardworking Florida traffic offense attorney like the team at Farah & Farah can be crucial when facing a DWLS charge.
Through a free, no-obligation consultation on the charges you face with the legal team at Farah & Farah, you can fully understand your charges and the possible penalties for a conviction. The first step to a successful legal defense is to understand what you face. To learn more, call (904) 263-4610.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Florida
The possible penalties for driving on a suspended license in Florida depend on the number of previous convictions a person has for DWLS:
- A first-time conviction is a second-degree misdemeanor and carries up to 60 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $500.
- A second conviction is a first-degree misdemeanor and carries up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
- A third or later conviction is a third-degree felony and carries up to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Habitual Felony Offenders, Habitual Traffic Offenders, and DWLS
A person facing a felony DWLS charge also risks being categorized as either a “habitual felony offender,” a “habitual traffic offender,” or both. Both categories expose a person to increased penalties if he or she is convicted of DWLS or any other crime again.
Under Florida’s criminal laws, habitual felony offenders include those who are receiving their third or later conviction for any felony – including driving on a suspended license. For a DWLS conviction, the amount of time a habitual felony offender may be sent to prison is doubled, for a maximum sentence of up to 10 years.
Habitual traffic offenders include those who have received three or more convictions for various types of traffic offenses within a five-year period. They include convictions for manslaughter by motor vehicle, DUI, any felony in which a vehicle was used, failing to render aid in a crash, or driving with a suspended license. A person who is labeled a “habitual traffic offender” may face an additional five-year driver’s license suspension, making it even harder to get to work, run errands, and tackle other tasks of daily living.
Responding to a Suspended License
You have the right to seek a conditional or “hardship” license in Florida if driving is the only way you can get to work and other essential appointments. At Farah & Farah, our Jacksonville driving with a suspended license defense attorneys can help you fight for the best possible outcome – not only against the charge of driving on a suspended license, but also toward getting you the access to transportation that you need. Contact us today for a free consultation.